Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

96 Sportsman 4x4 Problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2010, 12:08 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 Sportsman 4x4 Problems

Hi I am new at this quad game, so i am in need of some help please. I have a 96 sportsman 4x4 and my 4 wheel drive is not working correctly. I have only 3 wheels spinning. Both front axles move when in 4 wheel but only the left side wheel turns. I checked the hubs and cleaned then both out and refilled them to proper level. I went on a ride last weekend and 4 wheel drive quit in the middle of the ride, I believe it was due to the battery, because when I put a new battery in one wheel worked again, and after i thought about it only 3 wheels ever worked. cause it would always pull to one direction in reverse while using AWD. anyhow, my question is this, I can not find how many wires are suppose to run to the hub. I have one wire that i can see that runs to the hub down the strut tower. it appears to be intact, but it is siliconed so i do not want to disturb it if there is only one. Next I did notice that the right side hub seal leaks in the back towards the strut. I was wondering if this was my problem, before I buy I new Hillard assembly. Should the AWD work if there is enough fluid at least for a min after I fill it, to check and see if the hub is actually good. also I ended up tearing the whole quad apart plastics ext to do some maintenance. I tightened all 3 chains greased everything that I could find. then I checked the oil for the crankshaft, and I did not get a reading on the dipstick, also it was every muddy. So after this I decided to change the oil but I am not sure that I am in the right place. the book I have has two plugs a smaller on and a bigger one about 2 inches from the smaller one. the book is saying that the bigger one is the drain plug. if this is the case I believe I may be in trouble cause when i took it out nothing came out. it looks like it should be a dr