Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Passengers...

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2010, 08:12 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Passengers...

So, what's the deal??? I am new to quads, haven't ridden but two or three times total. I had my first few rides just recently and now I'm hooked~
I bought a 2002 700 Twin Sportsman. While looking over my new toy I saw the factory sticker that very clearly states

NO PASSENGERS

I was looking at the really large, comfortable seat thinking my wife (110lbs) and I could fit nicely. I read your siggy lines and I see your bikes and accessories listed and alot of backrests are listed

Is it just a product liability thing or is it not safe to take my wife for trail rides. Yeah, I realize climbing steep hills would be dangerous but I am wondering about "dirt road" type of rides.

Old 08-14-2010, 08:14 PM
Pro Rider
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You need to check what is required in your state. The stickers are a legal weenie factory recommendation. I know in MN it's legal to have a passenger. The exception is for youth riders who can't(and probably shouldn't).

Old 08-14-2010, 08:15 PM
Moto Psycho
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Find out if it's legal to carry passengers in your state. It's a fine I don't want to pay so I don't do it.

Old 08-14-2010, 08:20 PM
Weekend Warrior

I didn't know quad riding WAS regulated!!! Heck, I live where whorehouses are legal! I guess I will have to start googling NV laws re: quad riding!

Old 08-14-2010, 08:48 PM
Supersock
Hired Gun!
"Badges? We don't need no stinkin' badges!"
Received 168 Likes on 167 Posts

Originally Posted by mykidsdaddy
I didn't know quad riding WAS regulated!!! Heck, I live where whorehouses are legal! I guess I will have to start googling NV laws re: quad riding!

First off, we'd better define the term "ride".