Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

2000 Polaris Magnum 500 no spark

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2012, 11:09 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 Polaris Magnum 500 no spark

I have a polaris magnum 500 with no spark. I have replaced the ignition coil, and cdi and still have no spark. I have searched the issue on google and it seam to be that it most likely is the stator? Does anyone know how to test the stator? Also could the voltage regulator cause it to have no spark as well? .. It was running then we shut it off and now it has no spark so i am confused?

I have access to a older magnum that is a 425 and i am also wondering if the stator from it would fit in the 500. I would just cut and re solder the proper wires on? is this possible?

If any one has any insight on this issue that would be great i have been tinkering with this quad for a couple months now. thanks

Old 08-08-2012, 10:48 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Their were 4 different stators used on the 2000 Magnum 500 (kept updating them) Same thing on the the early Magnum 425's. Just guessing off hand the stators would be different along with the wiring colors.
Best to get a manual so you can do resistance checks,but if it happens to be the stator here is one place that reasonable.Ricky Stator - Manufacturer of ATV & Dirt Bike Stators, Electrical Components, Lighting Systems and Suspension Products OPT

Old 08-17-2012, 06:30 PM
Trailblazer

Did you get it fixed yet??

Old 08-17-2012, 08:35 PM
Weekend Warrior
Default not fixed yet

I still have no spark. i just ordered a new stator from Rmstator . it will be here next week i hope this is the issue!

Old 08-18-2012, 08:26 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default kevleetee