Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

2000 polaris xplorer 400 4x4 questions.

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2012, 08:12 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 polaris xplorer 400 4x4 questions.

New to this site and to the ATV world.

recently picked up a 2000 polaris xplorer 400 4x4.

This quad has a hole in the transmission cover above the front sprocket from a chain break and bunching up in there. was wondering if anyone has patched a hole in these cases before and if it is possible and if it holds? also what was used to patch the whole?

also is it possible to put a new starter in from the bottom side? i noticed that the starter is not working so i started to look into it and found out that there is no starter there?

Noticed a small puddle of antifreese under it and was wondering if there is a normal spot they start to leak?

also where on the transmission is the fill whole for the fluid?

any help would be greatly appriciated as i am new to the ATV world.

so there will probably be alot more questions to come

thanks.

Old 11-26-2012, 07:13 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Welcome! Common thing to happen on cases when chains were loose. Most times,I just replaced case halves didn't try to epoxy,etc as most times holes were too big. You can check on Ebay,etc for cases,but be careful,could get a bad one! Starters are the hardest to replace on the 250,300,350 and 400 because there at the bottom. Since you don't even have one,I'd remove the recoil cover(too see if you even have a starter bendix also?) and make sure the stator isn't full of mud and water if there wasn't a block off plate. If you have a clutch puller it's easiest to remove the clutch cover,clutches and backing plate to get to the starter bracket IF it even has one since the starters gone??