Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

changing the oil

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2013, 06:30 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default changing the oil

hey
I just recently got a 1999 Polaris Scrambler 500. the previous owner said he hasn't changed the oils in a few years. what oil should I use in the motor and the diff? I am new to this so any info is greatly appreciated!!

Old 05-13-2013, 10:05 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 36 Likes on 36 Posts

A few years!! Easiest way is to drain the oil tank 9/16" drain plug. Leave the oil filter on.After the tank has drained, crank the engine for 15 seconds and kill it! Then approx 8 ounces in the engine sump will drain into the oil tank then out into the pan.Then remove the filter and replace and install 2 quarts of 0w40 Mobil1,Amsoil,or any good 5w40 or 5w50 synthetic oil. Your brand preference is ok as long as its Synthetic. My own Rotella T6 5w40 at Wallyworld. Cheaper than some of the synthetics in most cases.
IF the oil is really dark,I'd remove the screen from the oil tank.Remove the hose coming from the engine to the oil tank fitting,use a big pair of vice grips or a crescent wrench and unscrew this fitting from the tank. Clean the screen filter,use some teflon tape or plumbers sealant on the threads and screw back in. If you remove the fitting, before you start the engine, replace the dip stick,clamp off the vent line at the top of the oil tank close to the fitting.Crank it and let run a couple minutes or so,remove the clamp and a lot of times you will hear a hiss of air. This helps to prime the oil pump quickly. I'd also check the valve clearance (.006 intake and exhaust) and also the exhaust lobe for wear as this was within the year model range of soft cam lobes.

Old 07-27-2013, 09:41 PM
Trailblazer

Originally Posted by old polaris tech