Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

'93 Trail Boss 250 - Top End Rebuild - Good Compression Now None!

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2020, 01:52 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '93 Trail Boss 250 - Top End Rebuild - Good Compression Now None!

Recently rebuilt the top end - piston was seized and the engine had never been rebuilt. I had the cylinder bored out, put in a new piston, rings, and top end gasket kit. This was my first top end rebuild ever so I'm pretty new to this.

Got everything all finished up last Friday evening. My compression tested around 110. Got everything put back together and it started right up. Saturday morning, it didn't want to start at first so I waited a while, tried again and it started.. I began to figure out that when the engine was warm, it would start on a single crank. Immediately turn on and purr. Yesterday morning, it wouldn't start no matter what I tried. With the first couple of turn overs, the engine sounded like it was about to crank and then nothing. So I pulled the plug, cleaned it and checked compression. I was getting between 110 and 115. Put the plug back in and it pretty much started right away. I set the carb so it idled on the lower side of things and so it didn't grind when shifting gears.

Fast forward to today. Fully cold engine - I tried to fire it up - on the first couple of turn overs, the engine sounded like it was cranking and then nothing. So I tried everything I had tried before: checked fuel, adjusted the carb a bit and pulled out the spark plug to clean it. Wouldn't turn over with electric start or pull start. I ended up grabbing the compression tester and checked it - now it's reading like 30. What in the world???