Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

mag 500 belt/clutch problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2001, 09:11 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a 99' mag 500.recently when the motor returns to idle the machine keeps rolling.I'm thinking its belt deflection I took off the cover and the belt is really tight is this normal? When I put it in neutral both the primary and secondary are spinning. Could something have bent to cause this.It started after we spot sprayed about 150 acres,but I have the polaris spray rig you would think polaris knows what there quad can handle.quad has 1500 miles on it

Old 07-03-2001, 10:35 AM
Trailblazer

I'm by no means a master mechanic, but I have two '99 Mag500s and both of the belts are loose enough to slip at idle. The trans pulley will spin in neutral (at idle), since there isn't any resistance on it, and there is enough friction with the belt to turn it. BUT, the belt should be loose enough to slip when the machine is in gear (at idle). It sounds like your clutch is sticking/not retracting all the way. I've never SEEN a belt actually shrink, but who knows.

Old 07-03-2001, 11:29 AM
Range Rover

Do you have ebs on it? If so this is a common problem. For some reason these clutches as they break in get tighter on the belt. I haven't figured out why yet but they do. An easy fix to the problem is replace the 3211069 belt with a 3211077 belt (scrambler belt)
This is a much easier way to fix it rather than shimming it. I've done this a few times with the ebs system all with good results.
Hope this helps!

Old 07-03-2001, 11:47 AM
Weekend Warrior

If you have EBS on your Magnum,make SURE you are using a EBS belt.There is a differance between the non EBS belt and the EBS belt.The dealership installed a non EBS belt on my EBS clutches and the ATV did exactly what yours is doing now.They switched it around and it cured my problems.

I also had my Sportsman do exactly the same thing,the clutches were SHOT,

Bill