Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Tired of Sportsman downtime!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2000, 09:15 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Yea, its back in the shop again. This time, according to service its a defective ignition switch on a 2000 Sportsman 500. It seems just when I get it back running and everything seems okay, another breakdown. I am suffering the curse of the doomed to sit idle quad. Without power to the front end, no starter, no AWD, and no cooling fan. Good thing I noticed that the speedo died on a long run, and decided to shut her down. This is service time number 4 and problem number 10. For whom do I thank for this misery?

Old 03-24-2000, 09:24 PM
Pro Rider

Sounds like you got a lemon. I have had no bad experiences with my Polaris. But I don't have all the gadgets your Sportsman has either.

Old 03-24-2000, 09:41 PM
Pro Rider

Gadgets, what gadgets? I think the only gadget this quad needs is a 1 3/4 inch ball for attaching the lemonade stand. Which of course will have to push the quad to the street.

Old 03-24-2000, 09:58 PM
Pro Rider

Sw.... Maybe you should try a different dealership... I learned the hard way with a particular Yamaha of mine that some "Certified Yamaha Mechanics" just plain SUCK!!... These guys had the big nice shop, matching uniforms.. the most tricked out showroom..(even the bathroom was nice.. REAL TOILET PAPER AND HAND TOWELS)
ANYWAY... I thought for sure with this kinda spread.. surely the owner hand't skimmped out when it came to hiring the technicans.. MAN WAS I WRONG!!.. These retards had no clue what could be causing the brand new Snap-On compression guage not to move when they cranked my Yamaha over... DUH... can we all say it together.. NO COMPRESSION!!.. I was standing there when they did it, so I spoke up and asked if any of them had a "leak down" tester for checking rings, valves..etc... All I got was dumb looks!!!!...