Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

help on a sportsman 500 adjustment

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2000, 03:52 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I was wondering if I could get a bit of background before wrenching on my brother's sportsman. Its backfiring on decel, and I'm planning to adjust the air/fuel mixture screw a bit. Could someone tell me where its located - under float bowl or in front of float bowl or... Also, what's the best way to get at the carb to do this adjustment, there's lots of plastic! I would really appreciate any assistance here, like what plastic to take off, where I can find the bolts/snaps to remove plastic, etc. Again, thanks - I've never worked with the sportsman before and would like it to go quickly so we can get out and ride!

Old 04-21-2000, 04:30 AM
Pro Rider

Ogre Check your ETC switch before messin around with your carb that is more then likley the problem make sure it is not to tight LoL

Old 04-21-2000, 04:38 AM
Pro Rider

ETC switch? Please elaborate.

Old 04-21-2000, 04:46 AM
Pro Rider

Jaime, is this what you're referring to?

From mudmachine...
"Pop the cover off the throttle (The ETC Switch cover...) Inside there you will see two wires going to an electric switch... You will notice as you give it the gas, the two contacts move away from each other.. Then as you let off the gas, they come back together.. THESE two contacts should NOT touch during normal operation.. Usually, after a new machine is broke in, the cable will have to be adjusted.. But, with the cover off, you can now see what is happening as you turn the cable adjuster... As for proper specs on the "air gap".. I set mine with a 5/32 allen wrench between the contacts.."

What is the purpose of these wires anyway?

Old 04-21-2000, 06:06 AM
Range Rover