Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

LT50 upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2007, 11:38 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT50 upgrades

I am a newbie to this forum, however, I have done my fair share of reserch for this ATV. My 5 yo son has a 03' lt50 and he is about through with it. At this point I dont want to upgrade to a bigger machine due to the fact that I just bought it last christmas and I don't think he is ready to understand the fundamentals of "shifting". The 50 is a perfect "fit" for him, I just think it needs more power. I bought it used last year and it is still in mint condition. Last weekend I decided to remove the restrictor in the exhaust but it looked like it had already been removed. I did not get into the intake yet. I removed the carb and noticed a "55" jet piggybacking another. I removed the piggyback (very reluctant due to the fact that the other jet looked like I could fit a pencil through it) and fired it up. It ran very fast at idle until I gave it some throttle then it just bogged down and died. Since this was being done in the "field" I wanted to make sure it was more reliable than fast so I put the piggyback jet back on, drilled some holes in the filter box and rode the rest of the weekend. My questions are this: I am going to purchase the CT racing head/exhaust combo. After that what jetting am I going to need (size wise) which jets need to be removed or replaced, #2 what is the mod regarding the carb slide? I haven't heard enough about this one to fully understand. #3 is there a clutch mod that works or even be found. What else can I do to obtain more low/top end power. I see they have a set of 5 paddle haulers for this machine but after seeing my son not even able to ride it onto the trailer without having a 5 block run at it I can't possibly see how paddle tires are even functional. is there a list of mods (in fundamental order) that can be found or explained. I have seen so many mods but they all breif