Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

timing on a lt230s..??

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2009, 09:55 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default timing on a lt230s..??

this is my first time attempting something like the and im in the process of swapping over from the cylinder up onto another engine... how do i go about getting the cam and piston all timed up correctly... engine im swapping to has the cylinder and etc all off already.... thanks...any help appreciated

Old 02-11-2009, 10:10 AM
Elite Pro Rider

This comes up alot around here. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]

Get the piston at the exact top using a screwdriver in the sparkplug hole. Then make the cam look like this while making sure the piston is still at the top. That's it. Can't be 180 degrees out of time. The sparkplug fires every TDC.

On the gasket surface at the top of this pic, don't put a lot of rtv and keep it away from the cam bearing area. If the rtv squeezes out on the cam bearing, it will wreck it. Try to get a very thin layer of rtv. It doesn't take much!

Name:  DCP_3169.jpg
Views: 605
Size:  135.5 KB

Also, there are 2 bolts that need to have rtv on their heads and washers or they will leak oil. If in doubt, put rtv on all of them.

Old 02-11-2009, 02:01 PM
Weekend Warrior

thank you very much.... hopefully this helps me out... im going to begin this tonight after work.... ill probably be back on here with a few more questions.. again thank you

Old 02-11-2009, 02:37 PM
Elite Pro Rider

I'll be in n out this evening, so let me know if you need anything. [img]i/expressions/beer.gif[/img]

Old 02-11-2009, 04:42 PM
Range Rover

is this the same for a 125 lt motor, i will be doing it also.

Old 02-11-2009, 05:23 PM
Elite Pro Rider

I've never seen a 125 lt motor, so I can't say.

Old 02-12-2009, 09:15 AM
Weekend Warrior