Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

1985 Suzuki 230 clutch

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2012, 03:23 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1985 Suzuki 230 clutch

Ok I will point out that I am a newbie with 4 wheelers.. I have search the forums to see if someone else had my issue and I havent been able to find anything.

First off let me tell you what happened.
When I bought this bike about a month ago, the guy before me decided to take it all apart and repaint it, after he did that he put it back together, and to no surprise he didnt tighten the chain right, so it came off and took out the cover. So this smart guy put a new engine in and when he ran the clutch cable, he ran it under the exhaust to where it was touching it. I didnt notice that he did that until I noticed that it was starting to burn the cable sleeve. So I started disconnecting the clutch pionion and acidently pulled it out. I put it back in and thought that I had it in right and rerouted the cable the correct way. I then decided to ride up to the gas station so I could put slime in one of my rear tires, but on the way I was noticing that it didnt feel like the clutch was engaging all the way, so I turned around and went back to my house, right when I got into the driveway, I accidently killed it and heard a pop noise. I drained the oil and took off the cover and noticed that a couple teeth broke off the pinion. and on the pressure plate, right where that (forgot the name) comes out the pressure plate to connect to th e pinion it had came off the plate. As soon as I get a chance ill provide pictures to give more of an idea. But, I went and ordered all the parts from the pressure plate and out.