Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

flipped my foreman, RGHH!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2002, 10:36 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I just flipped my foreman going up a huge hill in the woods. I am thankful that I only have minor scratches and almost no damage to the bike, but this whole thing really has me torqued off anyway. I am new to this sport by the way.

Why did I flip it? I had a really hard time the first two times up the hill. barely made it in 2nd gear with 4wd on. Tires spinning near the top, fighting for traction, front end rising, etc. My pals on a 400ex were flying up it no prob. The SP700 with us made it first in 4wd then in 2wd. No prob. I even saw a 250 Recon make it one time.

This is a hill you need momentum to make it up and there is only a short area to gain speed. It gets very steep on the top 1/3. It is a serious hill, I saw no one try it without seriously sizing it up. Some of my pals have ridden 20+ years. I no my prob is not enough speed at the bottom. In 2nd gear I can't go fast enough at the bottom so near the top the quad is biting and all the wheels are spinning and the motor is revving high(scary). I'm afraid I will run out of power in 3rd. Any ideas? Surely if a recon can make it a 450S can, right? Should I downshift mid-hill? Please help.

Old 07-29-2002, 05:23 AM
Trailblazer