Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Vinson 5spd....yea or nea???

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2002, 04:25 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Vinson 5spd....yea or nea???

I am thinking about selling my Wolverine and buying a Vinson 5 spd. I am an adult male 41 years old. I have been riding for 22 years. My two teenage sons also ride they each have a 400ex. We mainly ride wooded trails, alot of giant hills and alot of mud and water. My friends have a Sportsman 500, and a 650 praire. I love to hill climb and the Wolverine just dosen't seem to have enough power, sometimes I have to down shift to 1st gear which you know thats like. I am not sold on a belt driven quad. I believe the Vinson is the right quad for me. I would like to hear from anyone who has any suggestions that I might have not thought about or any Vinson owners about what you like and dislike.

2000 Wolverine
25in Goodyear Mud runners
moose cv guards
unifilter

Old 12-08-2002, 10:03 AM
Pro Rider

I have the Vinson automatic and would recommend it. The 5 speed is getting good reviews and they claim it to be quite a bit faster than the auto. The overall feel of the Vinson is good. Very comfortable and it handles great. This is my first full-size quad, as I'm used to the Banshee and Raptor, but the weight is what I notice most about riding aggressively on the Vinson. You should have all the motor you need with the Vinson, but the Prairie 650 and Grizzly would definitely outrun it in a drag race. I've ridden with a Grizzly 660 and had no problem keeping with him.

Old 12-08-2002, 11:19 AM
Pro Rider