Utility ATVs Discussions on utility ATVs.

Utility vs Sport, 31yrs old, first purchase, here's the facts.....any advice will be much appreciated!

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2005, 02:27 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Utility vs Sport, 31yrs old, first purchase, here's the facts.....any advice will be much appreciated!

Like the title said I am a rookie BUT I feel too many people ask what they should get w/o providing enough info. Here's my info so that you experienced atv guys can lend me a huge helping hand if you don't mind. I sold my one and only "toy" ('97 seadoo waverunner, bought new) after riding it a ton, to buy my wife's wedding ring. My friends still are shocked (8-9 yrs later) that I didn't buy an atv because obviously you can use them 12 months a yr vs 3 (in St. Louis) and I've wanted one all of my life....well the time has come. I have $3400 saved and by the end of the year I will have enough.

First, places I would ride...my buddy has 100 acres of woods, hills, fields, and a creek about 25 minutes away and those familiar with this area know that about 35-45 min away is St. Joe park (2,000 acres for off road use owned by the state, $2 a day to ride). My brother in law (1 hr away) has hundreds of acres outside his front door in an area that is not developed either...lots of great creeks, trails... Also, my subdivision has a little area of fields and woods and won't be fully developed for another 2 yrs, so at least after a day's work, I could jump on it for a quick ride around (even to the pool, another guy takes his golf cart) and blow off some steam. Obviously, I don't have the absolute best riding areas like some of you but I wanted to paint a picture for you of where I would ride....mostly trails, but speed is still important to me.