Utility ATVs Discussions on utility ATVs.

Mountain Climbing ATV's

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2006, 10:58 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mountain Climbing ATV's

Hello,

I have a site I must access up a 900' slope. The terrain is very rough and rocky, with boulder straddling and loose terrain, as well as very high angles of attack. I have little knowledge of ATV's and went to the Honda shop last week and bought a slightly used 05' Honda Rincon 650. It had the highest ground clearance of the Honda Utility class and 4 wheel independant suspension, with the Hydra-Stat automatic.

After purchasing, I realized the 3 speed ATV is geared pretty high, and offers almost no engine braking at low speeds. This is a problem when on steep slopes. I checked out the Rubicon with the 5 speed transmission and the low range setting, and it was a doll. Worked great on slopes, but one problem- not available with independant rear suspension and 2.5 inches lower ground clearance. It seems Honda does not make a machine that has everything I need.

I am soliciting advice on other makes/ models that offer ALL of these features:

4 Wheel Drive/Braking
Watercooled
Low range setting for automatic transmission or transfercase
Independant 4-wheel suspension
10 inches of ground clearance or more.
Strong charging system for heavy winch use

Please include all positive AND negative aspects of models you are familiar with. ****No brand bashing PLEASE****

Thank You!

Old 06-11-2006, 11:09 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Keep it small, keep it light, keep it simple...........