Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Scrambler v. Wolverine

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2003, 12:53 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scrambler v. Wolverine

I am new to the sport of ATVing and was wondering which quad is better for me, the
2003 Yamaha Wolverine or the 2003 Polaris Scrambler 500. I am a big guy, about 6'2"
300 lbs. and was wondering what the pros and cons were of these two quads and any
other info about them. I plan to do mostly trail riding but might do some dune riding and
jumping, also I want to use it in the snow so I would prefer a 4x4, but have been hearing
from some dealers that 4x4 doesnt make that much of a difference. Personally I think
they are just trying to sell me what they have in stock, but it would be interesting to hear
what experienced people have to say. Thanks.

Old 06-25-2003, 01:17 AM
Pro Rider

Well, I personally owned both quads. I am a pretty big guy also. Personally, I liked the wolverine much better than the Scrambler as it felt more sporty. The Scrambler is more powerful, fits my size a little better, has on command 4x4 and a plusher suspension. The automatic tranny, full floorboards, and mass gave it more of a "utiliy" feel. I was kind of scared jumping such a large machine, but it faired o.k. It was not very reliable either, and I hated the chain drive. It was by no means slow though. The wolverine on the other hand is light, responsive, easy steering, has a good suspension, shaft drive well built and has pretty decent power for a 350. It is the most reliable quad I have owned! The downsides are it is full time 4x4, somewhat outdated (the engine) and is not as powerful as the scrambler.