Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Raptor engine assembly help, ASAP please

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2003, 10:21 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Raptor engine assembly help, ASAP please

I just got my head back from Craycraft and I need to know all the little details that will make or break this install. This is my first time putting an engine back together.

Any tips on commonly screwed up things to not do?
Do I use gasket sealant on my Cometic HP head gasket?
How do I put the gasket sealant on the valve cover without making a mess and getting it all over the cam or rockers?
What do I use to clean the carbon buildup off the top of the piston, or should I not worry about it?

Also, some of my 4 main cylinder bolts are corroded. Can I take them out and replace them with fresh bolts without having to replace my lower cylinder gasket?

Thanks for all the help guys and please feel free to thow in any tips that you know! With good luck and a little patience I hope to be up and running by tomorrow night.

RR1

Old 08-27-2003, 11:03 PM
Pro Rider

Originally posted by: RaptorRacer1

Do I use gasket sealant on my Cometic HP head gasket?

How do I put the gasket sealant on the valve cover without making a mess and getting it all over the cam or rockers?

What do I use to clean the carbon buildup off the top of the piston, or should I not worry about it?

Also, some of my 4 main cylinder bolts are corroded. Can I take them out and replace them with fresh bolts without having to replace my lower cylinder gasket?

RR1
No

Use your finger, spread it even and thin on both mating surfaces, dont forget the spark plug hole.

Mist some water from a spray bottle in the intake while its running. Water mist cools the carbon so fast it flakes off the piston.

yes, so long as you dont pull the cylinder up. Even then it will probably be ok

And dont forget assembly lube on the cam, atleast puts some oil in the bath

Old 08-27-2003, 11:52 PM
Pro Rider