Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Just a bit of background...

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2003, 01:48 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just a bit of background...

With all this YFZ hype, I wanted to express some of my thoughts...

As many of you know, I'm brand new to quads. I got into them really in an effort to get my wife riding in the sand. I was just fine on my CRF and had never ridden a quad in my life.

I got back from a dune trip in June/July (I forget which) and thought "you know, Steph could ride the sand on a quad... hmmm...". The next day I was at a track where the only other folks there just happed to be on Honda 400EXs with all the goods. I'm assuming they were 440s because these kids could ride and were kicking our a$$es.

The next day, I come into my office and get on Honda's web site. I'd seen the 400 many times but had a new interest and appreciation. It just so happened that that same day, Yamaha had just put pics/info on their website with respect to the YFZ. I called the yami dealer closest to my office and asked about it and they had never heard of it - surprise.

Well, I continued pursuing the 400 cause I like Honda's. Our bikes have treated us just right, so I figure be loyal to the brand that you know. The dealer was trying to sell me a yellow one for like $5100 OTD - very cheap. I can't tell you how many times I had the two of them on my monitor side-by-side. At that time, I had never even read or heard of an ATV forum, but I did know that the 400 could very easily be made into a 440. Doing so with some other mods would have put me at roughly the same entry price as the YFZ.

As you all know I chose the YFZ. Know why? I like how it looked versus the 400EX. I guess the dealer telling me it was built to kick any other stock quad in the pants helped, but remember, I was buying it for my wife not me, so "speed" wasn't really that big a deal.