Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Warrior Motor

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2004, 07:47 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Warrior Motor

I baught a 1995 Yamaha Warrior a few weeks back. I am new to this ATV as well as this forum. Come to find out after riding less than 1 mile the rod bearing went out. I am guessing the pieces of the needle bearing went up by the piston because there is a score on the cylinder wall. Any suggestion on what I should do? I have a limited budget and the seller says it was sold as is, no warranty.
What parts should I put back in (what type, any suggestions???)
Where do I send the crank to get split and then pressed together?
Where do I send the cylinder to get re-sleeved?

Any comments or suggestions would be great or if you know of someone who has a used good motor for sale let me know.
Thanks

Old 09-21-2004, 08:11 PM
Pro Rider
Default Warrior Motor

After that incident you should go through every last piece on the bike and see what the person maintenanced regularly. I would just find any sort of local engine builder, and I know the top end costed a couple hundred, or a little more, for a friend of mine with a port job included. I'm not sure what most people will charge for the crank split and rebuild though. That guy I mentioned has a cousin that owns some kind of shop and will hook us up with some deals. If you live near me I will get a number or some other form of contact info for you. That's a pretty crappy situation to get stuck in.

Old 09-22-2004, 11:03 AM
Pro Rider
Your friend needs to stop smoking whatever it is that is rotting his brain!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Warrior Motor