Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Newbie gets first ATV, '99 Warrior

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2006, 05:22 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie gets first ATV, '99 Warrior

Hey guys,
This is my first time on this forum. I bought my first quad, but it's not the first one I've riden....although I've only ridden Ute's before. It already has mods done to it, like FMF PowerBomb header, FMF Powercore 2 pipe, K&N filter, and several dress-up items from Cascade Innovations. I'm presuming it's been jetted up for the mods already, but I'll do a wide-open run to find out. The original owner who I bought it from also put Douglas wheels and sand tires on all four corners too. I got the stock wheels/tires to boot for trail riding. It also has shock covers, chromed A-arms and polished foot pegs.

The bike is clean and the plastic is a better than what I'd expect on a 7-yr old machine. I ended up paying $2000 for it and think I got a good deal. I'm up in Oregon. Now I just have to find some trails around Portland to hit and have some fun.

~Ronbo

Old 05-04-2006, 07:49 PM
Trailblazer

Congrats on the new ride. Warriors are real fun machines especially with mods. And welcome to the forums.

Old 05-04-2006, 08:27 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

Congrats on your purchase. Take care of it and it'll last a long time.

Old 05-05-2006, 01:41 AM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks guys. I'm stoked about getting it out and playing with it. But I don't have any literature to explain mechanical adjustments, etc. The rear shock seems a little soft, as the back end sags a little too much under my 220 lbs. How do I stiffen it up some. I'm sure it's possible, but don't know how. I guess what I need is a manual, but have only seen Clymers manuals on eBay. If they're like the Chiltons/Haynes manuals I've had for my cars it'll just describe R & R procedures. Anyone know where I can get my hands on an original Warrior manual?

Thanks,
Ronbo

Old 05-05-2006, 03:21 PM
Pro Rider