Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

91 Yamaha Blaster Seized

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2006, 02:01 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 91 Yamaha Blaster Seized

I have a 91 yamaha blaster and the piston is seized. I got it for free, and was told that it would cost a lot for a shop to fix this. Is there a repair guide out there for this. Anybody know if this is a difficult repair to do? I would like to do it myself if its not too dificult. Yes I am a noob so go easy on me.

Old 11-11-2006, 09:22 AM
Weekend Warrior

I think the easiest way to fix it is to load it on a truck and ship it to me [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]. Just kidding. It's not too difficult to do but figure that it's going to cost about $200 by the time you are all said and done. You need to remove the top end (the cylinder) and send it to a shop to rebore it and match it to a new pistion. You will also need new gaskets (head and base) and it wouldn't hurt to put in a new wrist pin bearing. If you can't find a shop to do it for a reasonable price let me know and I can give you some contacts for a few. Otherwise if you need any help with anything else let me know.

Old 11-11-2006, 11:05 AM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks for the advice. Any info on where I could source the parts that I need?

Old 11-11-2006, 11:30 AM
Weekend Warrior