Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

2001 Blaster

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2010, 12:11 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Blaster

I just purchased a 2001 blaster and was wondering what type of oil goes in the tranny? I was looking and noticed oil was coming out froma nipple where a vent tube had came off and now I have hooed it back up. How do I tell if there is a oil pump cover plate put on with out taking the side cover off? The lady I bought it from said she has mixed the gas since she bought it from a shop 4yrs ago. I can see the bottle is gone that held the oil injection but would like to know if the cover was out on. I am new to the 2 stroke atvs since I have only had a polaris sportsman. On the case cover there is 2 small holes where the oil injection lines come out and was wondering what to use to plug those hole as I don't want dirt etc to get in. Any advice would be GREAT. It came with fmj gold pipe and silencer and a KN filter. Thanks

Old 05-28-2010, 08:17 AM
Weekend Warrior

there is no way to tell if they fully removed the oil injection unless you pull that small cover, I dont think oil comes out, but if it is not plated off then remove the larger cover, And just get a small piece of steel or aluminum and rtv , remove the plastic gear and put cover on.

Old 05-28-2010, 07:37 PM
Pro Rider

If the gear and oil pump were not removed, the gear has been eaten away by now. Don't bother with any mods if you don't want to spend a couple of bucks just filling holes....