Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

2001 blaster with no spark help!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2010 | 05:42 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Angry 2001 blaster with no spark help!!

Ive replaced the cdi, stator, ignition coil, pick-up coil, cut the tors wires and twisted them together, and still dunno?? Help.. If you can please, im new to the atv community and dont know much about them besides google and common sense but this is boggling me badd

Old 10-12-2010 | 07:23 PM
Pro Rider

Take a multimeter to it and make sure your getting the right volts through the wiring. Also, check the spark plug wire, make sure that the multimeter runs through. I didn't get anything on a new ignition coil and then I took the head of the coil off of a smaller quad I have and right away it started.

Old 10-12-2010 | 07:59 PM
|
Weekend Warrior

I have 1 new coil and 3 used ones.. None have spark and I'm not getting a single millie volt throught the coil or the orange wire before the coil.. Could it be the voltage regulator? I'm baffled because when I kick it.. The ligfht comes on which makes me think the magneto is fine.. So I went for the cdi.. And no spark.. Then to the stator.. No spark, now brand new pickup.. No spark.. The switches have continuity and the key had been removed before me.. A buddy has the same year one and showed me the 2 wires that have to be unhooked (for the original key) and I unhooked them and still nothing

Old 10-12-2010 | 08:18 PM
Pro Rider

Rehook the wires and then strip the ends that connect to the key switch and connect them together, it should hot wire it pretty much if I am correct, taking it off might cause a gap in the electrical.

Old 10-12-2010 | 08:41 PM
Pro Rider

99% of all electrical problems are a ground issue. Usually an open, but occasionally a short.

My guess, since I can't be there, is that the coil is not grounded well.... The mounting points on these dudes get rusty and cause this issue at times. Been there on a 96 model Blaster.