Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Skidding Logs: Grizzly v. Brute v. KingQuad

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2015, 09:25 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Skidding Logs: Grizzly v. Brute v. KingQuad

Hello, I'm very new to ATVs.

I just bought 5 wooded acres that needs some serious TLC. I have a lot of dead trees standing and on the ground I want for firewood. The catch is that there is a lot of slope so there will be a lot of skidding them uphill. I plan on making a log arch and realize I'll have to block the bigger ones.

1: Which of these is going to have the best torque?
2: Which one is going to have the best, toughest transmission?
3: Should I be looking for something with a solid rear axle?
4: Which one will be the most stable on hills?
5: Which will handle the best in tight wooded turns?
6: Is EPS helpful in this type of situation? I don't have rocks, only wooded loam.

Sorry if this is too basic. Most of the comparison of these ATV I've found is about top speed and drag racing... All my experience has been on MX bikes, so any help is really appreciated!

Old 11-05-2015, 03:51 AM
Elite Pro Rider
Received 301 Likes on 295 Posts

I don't know much about the other two but the King Quad is quite a good machine. The 450 and 700 had problems with frame cracks, the 500 and 750 seem better. I know someone who had a 450 which cracked badly and often, so got a Honda 500 auto instead, he said the KQ towed a lot better, possibly because the hitch is on the frame rather than the axle. I maintain a couple of Grizzly 550s and they are OK, though have had knocking rear drive shafts. They also seem taller, this may affect their balance on side slopes. King Quads are a bit twitchy at speed, the EPS does cure this, and once you get used to lighter steering you find it hard to go back to non EPS machines.

Old 11-05-2015, 06:49 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts