Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Grizzly 660 problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2017, 06:33 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Grizzly 660 problems

I'm new to this but I have a 2002 grizzly 660. It has a hmf performance series and is jetted for the exhaust. It was running fine for a while good and know it is giving all kind of trouble. It would start up and idle fine but the minute you touched the throttle it would just shut off just like you hit the kill switch but I didn't. I took to a guy who works on bikes and he couldn't find anything wrong with the carburetor or anything. He put a new carburetor and it ran fine after that. I got it back and started to run it and it started to have like a miss in just the one spot of throttle it would just start to have a miss kinda. If the motor came under a loaf or you would give it just a little bit more or just lift a little it would quite. It didn't bother me that bad so I continued to run it. It started the other day if you left it idle for like 5 to 10 minutes it would start to like miss or something weird like that and then would shut off. It was a pain to get it to start back up but you could get it and it would run but if you let it idle it would shut right off. I have it know where it won't really start up without taking a half hour of messing with the throttle and choke and it starts up and shuts right off unless you can get it to rev up and keep it up there it will stay running. Has anyone one had anything like this or similar to it. I really need help please

Old 03-19-2017, 04:12 AM
Elite Pro Rider
Received 300 Likes on 294 Posts

Make sure the tank breather isn't blocked, if you take the filler cap off and everything starts to work OK, it is blocked.

Change the plug.

Yams are noted for the inlet manifold leaking, you could be getting an air leak there.