Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Phoenix area, east valley Raptor owners, please read! A plea for help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2001, 01:47 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I would like to request a BIG favor from one of you big-hearted Raptor owners in my area. I have a nagging problem with my machine that I have been chasing for about 2 months. (many of you have read about this in my previous posting) My machine cuts out and dies @ full throttle, top speed. I have troubleshooted this beast until I am blue in the face, and have checked everything at this point, and I do mean EVERYTHING. I feel like I have an ignition related problem, and have even gone so far as to replace the stator & ignition coil, to no avail. Carbs have been taken apart 3 and 4 times and everything has been double checked many times. The only component that I cannot check is the CDI unit. I suspect mine is flaking out @ hi rpm and possibly causing the problem. Is there anyone out there that would be willing to meet up with me for a short while and temporarily swap out CDI's so that I can determine if this is the problem without having to buy an expensive component from the dealer that I cannot return? I just need to see if I am on the right track, and this is the easiest and most fool-proof way to do it. The CDI is quick and easy to change out, and will not take long to do. I would be tremendously grateful if someone would be so kind as to help me out. Please e-mail me at dunaticdana@cs.com, or call me at 480-988-0862. I would be willing to offer the kind soul a small monetary reimbursment if necessary for the trouble. Thanks!

Old 06-26-2001, 01:38 PM
Pro Rider

Scott!

I will see if my husband will do this. We live in Gilbert, too, and he has a 2001 Raptor, so I will see if he wouldn't mind. I will let you know what he says!

Corry

Old 06-27-2001, 05:15 PM
Pro Rider