Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

2001 Kodiak Belt Slipping

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2001, 10:07 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Recently, my '01 Kodiak has been finding it difficult to go through any deep water without the tranny belt slipping. I never had this problem until I got it really stuck up to the racks (muck & water) earlier this spring when I experienced it's first slip. Now, whenever I go through deep clean water (to the lights) it seems to need to rest/dry for a while due to the belt slip. I unplug the snorkel and air intake box and it takes a while to get back to gripping. Should I take the cover off and see if the belt has some crud on it, or perhaps does it need to be replaced? Again, I didn't have a problems with deep water this past year until I got it stuck up the racks in mud this year. I crossed rivers and even had to float it once to cross. Perhaps is crudded up? I'm a fairly novice driver, and even less of a mechanic, so any helpful hints/experiences would be appreciated on this topic.

Love my new Griz though.

2001 Kodiak 4x4 400(Green)
2002 Grizzly 4&4 660 (Camo)

Old 08-06-2001, 12:02 AM
Trailblazer

I would start at the front air intake and work my way back looking for a loose clamp or anything which might be letting water into the belt. As long as water isn't going over the front air intake, your belt shouldn't slip. The only time my 2000 Kodiak belt has slipped was when the front air intake clamp(where the air intake attaches to the engine) came loose.
I reattached the clamp, drained the water,checked and tightened the other clamps and haven't had any other problems.

Old 08-06-2001, 04:49 PM
Weekend Warrior

Wow, you were right. I'm trying to connect the SOB now and it's barely long enough. You'd think Yamaha would connect it with a longer rubber gasket.

Thanks for your help!

Old 08-07-2001, 12:51 PM
Trailblazer