Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Lookin' at new Pick-ups. V-10 SuperDuty Ford F-250 Lariat

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2001, 10:57 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I don't want a diesel truck, plus it is a $4,700 option. The V-10 is only $600 more. 418 cu.in. I assume it is made on the same bed as the V-8, just two more cylinders. Is it any good? I've been a Chevy man for many years, But I am fed up with them. This truck looks good. It tows over 10,000 lb. Any input would be appreciated.
[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-cool.gif[/img]

Old 11-30-2001, 11:16 PM
Pro Rider

I don't know much about this engine, but I too am looking into new trucks. I need a 3/4 ton and am not a huge fan of deisels. My choice is between a Ford f250 v10 4x4 crew cab and a new chevy 2500 4x4 8.1 liter crew cab. I am not sure, what is your complaints with the chevy.

Thanks
Bat

Old 11-30-2001, 11:44 PM
Pro Rider

I'm no expert but doesn't the diesel get MUCH better gas mileage, especially when hauling than the V-10? Also isn't the diesel more torquy and better for towing.

Old 12-01-2001, 01:53 AM
Pro Rider

Diesels are more powerful and the do get better mileage than a gas engine. But only buy the diesel if you plan to drive a lot and I mean a lot. Between 30 and 60,000 miles or more, a year and your going to be towing something exceptionally heavy. $4700.00 for the option of the diesel will buy a lot of gas.