Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Help, Grizzly Oil

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2000, 11:39 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I just bought a new 1999 Grizzly and put 45 miles on it, I'm still following the owners manual break in schedule. It runs great, but my concern is I have small rattle or ping at low RMP, ever since I got it. I assumed it was just normal break in noise, However, yesterday I noticed it got louder. I stoped checked my oil and the level looked wierd. Im no mechanic, and this is my first ATV. But the oil looked like it was real watery & had a charcol color to it. Could I have got water in my OIL? I rode it straight home and put it up. I planned on going to the dealer tonight and getting an oil filter and some yamalube and was going to make my first oil change sooner than later. Is that ok? Should I take it in to the dealer? It still runs fine, Just sounds funny at low RPM's I checked that little water guage under the air box and it did have some water in there. I have crossed a couple creeks but nothing deeper than the 10-12"
I have never rode a Grizzly before maybe this is normal. Could the valves need adjustment already?
If that is water in the oil, How did it get there? isn't that case sealed?

Old 03-08-2000, 01:57 PM
Pro Rider

I would take it to the dealer and have them look at it. It might not be nothing or it could be something. I don't believe that I would want to play around with water in my oil.

Old 03-08-2000, 02:16 PM
Trailblazer

Well I am not sure its water. But it doesn't look like the clean oil it had when I bought it.

It is really black/charchole color. And when I shake the bike back and forth it moves/flows back and forth real easy. I didn't think 20-50 oil or whatever it has in it would be like that.