Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Painting Plastic

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2002, 10:29 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Painting Plastic

anyone have any tips for painting plastic, i wanna be able to bend it with out cracking............
Thanks

Yamaha Warrior

Old 11-21-2002, 10:34 PM
Pro Rider
Default Painting Plastic

A friend of mine had his Cannondale Plastic painted black. It seems to have held up. He took it to an actual body shop to have it done.

Go to my "Mod Photos" page and click on my Canondale folder.

Old 11-21-2002, 11:54 PM
Range Rover
Default Painting Plastic

If you want to paint your plastic, you are going to need flex agent, and adhesive "promoter". Any auto body paint supply shop should have this in stock.

Old 11-23-2002, 12:52 AM
Weekend Warrior
Default Painting Plastic

I am an Automotive Painter, certified been painting for about 10 years. There's a few systems out there that I know about for plastic.

PPG, there flex additive only makes the paint flexible for about 72 hours.

DuPont, is OK I really don't like there Plastic adhesion and they done have a flex for there Base coats.

Sikkens, I recommend, I used it to paint pieces on my quad, and to date not one problem. Most flexible paint system with an easy to use plastic adhesion promoter.

If there's a better system out there let me know please. I have not used all brands of paint, but I have had the most luck with Sikkens plastic system.... All this is my .02

Old 11-23-2002, 02:46 PM
Pro Rider
Default Painting Plastic