Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Polaris Sportsman 500/Honda Rubicon

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2000, 08:04 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am just getting into the ATV world and looking to buy the best machine. From what I can see its between Rubicon and Sportsman.

suspension - Polaris
Hondamatic transmission/belts - Honda
4X4-Polaris
dependability-Honda
Price-Honda
weight-Honda
ground clearance-Polaris
turning radius-Polaris

I probably could not go wrong with either machine, but would like a little more impute before I invest my hard earned money into a fine piece of machinery.

Old 06-15-2000, 12:15 PM
Pro Rider

The Rubicons are just coming out, you are going to have to wait until more info is available.

I can tell you from what I have read so far & how much I like my Rancher that if I had $7,000, it would be no contest on which one I would get.

The Rubicon.

Old 06-15-2000, 12:44 PM
Pro Rider

If you love to wrench on your stuff, get yourself an sp. Although the rubicon is unproven, with honda's track record I'd be more than comfortable investing my hard earned money into this new bike! I think the new tranny is the wave of the future, so long belts.

Old 06-15-2000, 12:54 PM
Pro Rider

The Sportsman is $500 less than our Honda dealer will sell the Rubicon for.

Old 06-15-2000, 10:52 PM
Trailblazer