Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

4wd but would like 2wd

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2013, 11:22 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4wd but would like 2wd

Hello,

This is my first post, so please be kind.

I have purchased a trx500fa 2002 model, it is a fantastic bike and I love riding it about as much as possible.

But the thing that is only slightly annoys me is that it doesnt have 2wd-4wd selection.
Is there anyway of adding this to the bike? I'm guessing not, but I'm not experienced as yet to the workings of the gears etc. so I thought I'd ask.

Many thanks for taking the time to read this.

Billy

Old 01-05-2013, 12:18 PM
Super Moderator
Well, golly JimBob!
Received 54 Likes on 54 Posts

Warn used to make a selectable hub for quads with full time 4wd systems. I looked around on warn.com but couldn't find them.

Try warn 424 in Transmissions & Chains | eBay for a kit.

Old 01-05-2013, 02:30 PM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks MooseHendon, I had a quick look on fleabay and found this http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewi...id=93673357350

I guess this is the type of thing I need?

If do then I will start saving for it.

The main reason why the 4wd annoys me is when driving on the grass outside the house to park it, the wheels tear the grass up so much that the other half isn't best pleased with me!!
Do you think this will help solve the problem or do I need something that will let the wheels slip independently, like a slip diff?

Old 01-05-2013, 03:49 PM
Super Moderator
Well, golly JimBob!

Originally Posted by BillyTheSparks
Thanks MooseHendon, I had a quick look on fleabay and found this Honda TRX500 Rubicon 4x4 2001 04 Warn 424 Style Drive Shaft Switchout 62616 | eBay

I guess this is the type of thing I need?

If do then I will start saving for it.

The main reason why the 4wd annoys me is when driving on the grass outside the house to park it, the wheels tear the grass up so much that the other half isn't best pleased with me!!