Polaris Ask an Expert! In fond memory of Old Polaris Tech. An area where experts in their field will answer non-general questions about your Polaris ATV.
"old polaris tech" and other experts will answer your questions as they have time.
ASK ALL GENERAL QUESTIONS OR BASIC QUESTIONS IN THE POLARIS FORUM.
Basic or General questions posted in a expert section will be moved!

Polaris 335 loose belt

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2016, 08:59 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Polaris 335 loose belt

Hi, I'm new to the Polaris world and I've bought a 99 335 4x4 I just did a top end rebuild and checked my belt, the belt was really really loose, so I went and bought a new OEM belt, and it was exactly the same size as the old belt. The belt while on the machine has at least 3" of sloppy motion, the clutches are in perfect alignment with each other, all seems right, the motor is mounted nice and tight no loose motion either way, this ATV does not have ebs, is this normal amount of belt travel? I did check and this is the correct belt, and clutch centers are the correct 10" apart. Am I OK or no? Have not even cranked it up so I don't know about performance at all, just seems really loose. Any help is really appreciated!

Old 02-19-2016, 06:57 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Shouldn't have more than 1 1/2" play in the belt with a straight edge across the top of both clutches while pulling down on the center of the belt. Try it first and see how it does.. You can take up some slack by removing stacking shims in between the rear clutch sheaths. You have to leave at least one shim inside.Items #8,9,10. Dirt Cheap Yamaha, Polaris, Suzuki & Kawasaki OEM Parts & Accessories – Cycle Parts Warehouse If you have to do that,might as well replace the 3 ramp buttons in the rear clutch while you're at it.

Old 02-19-2016, 07:02 AM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks OPT I'll give it a try today and see what it does.