Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Common Blaster rebuild mistakes

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2008, 02:26 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Common Blaster rebuild mistakes

Ok, I am a newbie, With that said, I bought a blaster that ran but blew smoke.It had 100 PSI in the cylinder. Once opened, the piston was missing the entire skirt from one side. I was amazed on how the bike ran after a catastrophic event .It appears than the remains went into the lower case. I shook the case and removed most of the metal. The bore is 2.57 measured with a calibrated micrometer and no scratched on the cylinder walls and a hone should do the trick. I need to open the case and manually remove all debris from the crankcase and replace the connecting rod that has a "wobble " to it. Does anyone want to share any hints, tricks or just stuff they can give advice on. I have no problems going in. Any thoughts. The clutches look great and evenly spaced.

Old 02-13-2008, 02:59 PM
Pro Rider
Is addicted to 4 wheel'n!

Sound like you have experience with these things but, I'll give ya a little fyi. Me and my bro rebuilt a little blaster while back. The electrical housing thing, ah.. I'm having a brain fart and can't remember what it's called...anyway I think you can figure out what I'm talking about. It's pressed on. You need a puller that you can get at yamaha or about any shop to pull it off. I didn't know this and everything was closed for the weekend. Put me at a stand still the entire weekend.

Old 02-13-2008, 03:01 PM
Pro Rider
Is addicted to 4 wheel'n!

Also, if your in there anyway check all the bearings. There are quite a few in there and on ours about 3 had missing rollers.

Old 02-13-2008, 07:54 PM
Range Rover

check out boomer/rydin dirty.com great site for mods and how to's good luck

Old 02-13-2008, 08:05 PM
Range Rover

I think it's Hot Rods that makes a nice stroker crank while you're at it. Imagine that along with a 240 top end conversion...