1) Engine problems.. If your quad wont run..post in here.

ATV250 Rear Differential w/ Reverse slipping

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2009, 10:39 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ATV250 Rear Differential w/ Reverse slipping

Hello,

I'm working on what I believe is Model 250ATV Manufactured by Chongqing Longting Power Equipment:

http://www.made*in*china.com/showroom/longting/product*detailuIQxtLnPzJdm/China*250ATV.html

I have very little background on the ATV and don't even know what year it was made in. My brother*in*law got it at a farm auction for my father*in*law and it didn't run and we have no history. It appears to have sat in a barn for several years but appears to have very little wear. I'm just trying to get it running for my father*in*law. After fixing the electrical system, and then the fuel system, I'm on to the drive train. The ATV is running now but the rear end is "slipping" out of gear. I found a picture of a similar ATV that uses the same type of rear end as on the 250ATV:

http://www.giobikes.com/ATVs*in*Cana...lity*ATV*Quad/

It's the picture that says "Heavy duty rear axle shaft along with the back drum brakes." about half way down the page.

When I drive the ATV around it "pops" out of gear in the rear end and then the chain just spins. It does "pop" out intermittently (stop*go*stop*go..) or all the way (chain spins, you sit). It will do this when going in forward or reverse. I can go around my house before it does this going fairly slow. There's a lever that you pull and twist that puts the unit in reverse. After it "pops" out of gear if I put it in reverse it will start working again. Same thing if I go in reverse. It pops out and then if I put it in to forward it start working again. It's not making any type of grinding noise but it does jerk you around before it pops out of gear. I did fill the differential with gear oil since it looked like it had leaked but it's hard to tell if that made a difference or not.