1) Engine problems.. If your quad wont run..post in here.

Rectifier/Regulator

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2010, 08:52 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rectifier/Regulator

hi there i am a newbie so please be gentle i am looking for a regulator/rectifier for a 250cc quad tried to get some from uk chinese part dealers but aint got any in stock

find attached a picture

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

as you can see by the picture it has 3 yellow wires in to one plug and on the other plug it has a red/white, red, and a green one do i have to get the exact wiring colours the same on a new one or can i get different colour wires, i have found one with one colour out on one of the wires any information will be greatly appreciated on this as its doing my head in now

Old 12-10-2010, 01:22 AM
Electrical Expert
Likes High Voltage In The Tub!
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Yikes, that is a big picture!

You need a six pin regulator, and you need to make sure it is for a three phase stator. The three yellow wires are the thing to look for there.
Don't get a 6 wire regulator with two yellow wires, or one with just one yellow wire and one white wire. These are single phase regulators.

One yours most likely the red wire is the positive battery connection through the fuse (and maybe the ignition switch). The green wire is
ground, and the red/white drives the fans.

The wire colors and connectors may not match when you get the new one. You may have to cut off the connectors and wire them manually.
The yellow wires are easy, just wire them up, but the others may require that we measure some things before wiring them up.

What brand of quad? Is it liquid cooled (with fans)? Automatic choke?

Why are you changing the regulator? What symptoms and test results lead you to believe that the regulator is bad?

Old 12-10-2010, 03:23 AM
Weekend Warrior