Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Needing some education

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2006, 01:18 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Needing some education

I am totally new to atv I am 25 5'8 195 lbs looking to buy a new or used atv I am looking for a tough machine that will get me to a deer stand and maybe alittle more also it cant break the bank. so here is where I need the advice 4 x 4 or not I have talk to some people and they say no some say cant live without it, auto or manual, and is 250 too small I am a gun guy mostly and I wonder if the 450 500 600 750 are like magnums on rifles just more than you need. I have only looked at 2-3 atv the one I liked best was a honda recon 250. let me know what is dependable and affordable

Old 12-29-2006, 10:21 AM
Pro Rider
Sound advice there. "Hey, watch this........"
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

For what you are asking it to do the Recon will work fine. A 250 class utility will get an adult out on the trails to your tree stand and can haul a deer back out of the woods. You can also get some good plain fun trail riding in. We have a 250 class (Ozark) and I'll ride it sometimes just for the fun of it, even though it's a little small for my 6'-2".

You can go bigger and faster and yes, many of these quads will be better. 4WD is nice to have but not necessary and it will always add to the cost. I think I'd look for a used Recon or Ozark - should be able to find a 2 to 3 year old one in good shape for somewhere around $2K.

Jaybee

Old 12-29-2006, 10:37 AM
Pro Rider
Lets Ride!

The 4x4 or not question is a big one that ends up being more about who you are as a person, and less about what you NEED to get by. .........

If you want to go fast, bang gears, hit jumps and rail berms than a 2wd sport machine is the only way to go. But if you want to blaze trails and mud-bog and crawl rocks the 4x4 is the way to go......