Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

new rider, AC 400 4x4, yamaha kodiak4x4, honda 400...what to buy

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2003, 08:23 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new rider, AC 400 4x4, yamaha kodiak4x4, honda 400...what to buy

Im looking to buy my first quad. im 6'2, 230lbs and need something to handle my 300+lb friend. I really have no idea which is better. All of my knowledge is either from dealers(hard to believe anything they say) or from here(very helpfull but overwhelming). I have looked at the AC 400 4x4, yamaha big bear and Kodiak 400 4x4, and honda 400 4x4. They all look fantastic to me, priced about equal (the ac comes with 2 yr warrenty free, and big bear is a 2003 and about 500 cheaper due to last years model). I will be plowing, riding im mud and snow, and trail riding. Any info will help me greatly- im not very good at being a mechanic so dependability is a huge factor. Also, will one of these machines handle me and the wife together?(230 +135=365 lbs). Please give oppinions, ty

Old 10-07-2003, 09:35 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

y not taking a look at the 360 prairie very nice atv there

Old 10-08-2003, 02:12 AM
Pro Rider

What about the Kodiak 450 ? I saw one of those recently, looked really nice and had some nice features. All of the other you meantioned are also nice machines. As far as reliablility, it is always hard to beat a Honda. Any machine this size should also be able to handle both you and your wife, although be careful climbing any hills with a passenger, can be quite dangerous.

Old 10-08-2003, 02:39 AM
Pro Rider