Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Looking to buy first ATV.

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2000, 09:35 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My girlfriend and I are looking at possibly a 01 Yamaha Kodiak, a Arctic Cat 500 Auto, and a 01 Honda Rubicon. It will mainly be used for snowplowing, trailriding, and maybe pulling a springtooth plow. She is buying one first, and then when I get some money saved, I will buy my first one also. This Forum is very interesting. I really enjoy reading everyone's comments and advice. Anyone out there have any suggestions?

Old 09-11-2000, 10:15 PM
Pro Rider

Hammer:
You've picked out three excellent machines, though they are all auto's, so that could be why! I can't speak about the Rubicon, as I have no knowledge of them, other than what I've seen in the papers, but I'm a firm believer that actual "hands on" experience greatly outweighs that of book work, so I won't say anything about them.

As you will notice, I drive a '00 AC 500 Auto, and love every bit of it. I've done more work with this machine than I had originally thought possible, so the work you plan to do with it will be no problem at all. My boss purchased two '01 Kodiaks almost two months ago now. Aside from the fact that they are smaller-400 vs. 500-they are a good machine, and well powered. Thing is, from what I have seen between the two, if I was deciding between the two for work, I'd take the AC hands down over the Kodiak. The Kodiak is nice, but doesn't have what it takes to get the job done as quickly and efficiently-though that's just my opinion.