Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Utility ATV for "Hobby Farm"?

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2004, 01:25 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Utility ATV for "Hobby Farm"?

Hi, looking for advice... I'm a total rookie! We just bought a house & horse stable on 8 acres in Wisconsin and until yesterday we were looking at Deere tractors ($$$) until someone mentioned an ATV instead. Here's what we need it to do:

Function: working around the property rather than for sport.

Criteria: Reliability, pulling power and ease of use. Needs to be adaptable to support attachments (if they exist) for cutting grass, hauling hay / wood, debris, speading manure.

Price: up to $6k, I was thinking of a 2004 closeout.

What I have seen so far (internet browsing) is the Yamaha Kodiak, Honda FourTrax.

Thanks for the help!

Old 12-31-2004, 01:34 PM
Pro Rider

i do a lot more sport riding then i do work with my atvs but you should take a look at the polaris line of ATVs. as I recall they have a number of working accessories like mowers and such for their bikes. I dont know which models would be in your exact price range but they are great working ATVs. with auto tranny and a great 4 wheel drive system, and a single lever for all wheel disk breaks they are a very easy to operate.

Old 12-31-2004, 03:22 PM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks for the quick response. I found a Polaris dealer and will drop by, also a Yamaha / Honda dealer. I'm willing to pay more for quality which usually means Honda, no idea if that's the same for ATVs...?

Old 12-31-2004, 04:30 PM
Pro Rider
Is old enough to know better, but too young to stop.