Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Help! Get a Traxter, Honda, other??

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2000, 05:48 PM
K2
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Okay, I've read all of the comments in this section, and others, and am still at a loss. I am looking to buy my first quad and think I have narrowed it down, but some of you really have me thinking otherwise.

So far my choices are between a Traxter and a Honda Foreman ES. The "wife" and I will be doing mostly trail riding in northern/southern Ohio and surrounding areas in all weather including some deeper snow.

My basic reasons for the Traxter are: I have a Bombardier Sea Doo and love it - you name it, everything has been excellent. I also like the features on the bike: storage, rear radiator, the 4-wheel system, larger gas tank, steel racks. My concerns are: The new Traxter doesn't have all of your experinced opinions yet so it's a gamble, it's heavy, complaints on shifting slow, backfiring, will it suit my type of riding since I haven't been on it yet.

(Traxter owners please speak up, since they are new I haven't found alot to read about.) Some reading was good, some bad and one real bad, but I think I know his dealer and when I asked about Traxter problems he mentioned one guy who had a lack of oil, which we know will cause problems.

Ive been on a Honda 300 and Foreman S alot and like them. The Foreman has much more power and was harder to get stuck, but it still does when that one loose wheel just spins. My friends and most of you praise the reliability of the Hondas and that is on my mind as well, but that Traxter has caught my interest.

I have also been on a friends Kawi and liked it until his tranny selector snapped off, 2 tie-rods broke and the plastic racks started looking like swiss cheese. Polaris comments from friends, and I haven't been on one, are that a Polaris is more of a work horse and may not be as good for running trails.