Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

KFX 700 ???

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2007 | 10:03 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default KFX 700 ???

I'm 6'2 about 215 and buying my first quad. I've been researching for several months before I just go out and buy one. I was completely set on the Honda 400ex until I started reading about the Kawasaki KFX700. I need sport bike not a utility. I'll be riding in mostly open areas because I work for a builder and can play in all the neighborhoods before we start building houses. No real mountains or climbing or anything like that. I like the idea of the 700 b/c it's an auto so I don't have to learn to shift gears and it's liquid cooled and large enough to accomodate a guy my size. Can anyone give me some feedback on this machine?? Is that too much power for a guy starting out?? I'm open for any suggestions about which quad will be best for me and definitley some feedback on the Kawasaki machine. Thanks so much !!!

Old 05-29-2007 | 12:57 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Default KFX 700 ???

I really thing this machine is a tank, but if you are a huge guy you have only limited choices. If you must have a big machine, I would pick the DS 650 instead, and learn to shift.

Doesn't sound like you are all that huge though, and I think you could fit on many other machines, that are far superior to either of those.

Old 05-29-2007 | 05:26 AM
Pro Rider
Default KFX 700 ???

The KFX700 is a great quad, it is a powerful quad and can get you in trouble if you are not careful. Do you have any experience on ATV's? Mine has been very reliable and I would recommend one to anyone. The ds650 is a nice quad, but it does not have reverse and on a quad that heavy, I think that is a function that is needed. I think you would be happy with the KFX700. I am about your same size and it fits me really well.

Old 05-29-2007 | 08:49 AM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default KFX 700 ???