Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Want to buy 2 new quads

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2007 | 06:53 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default Want to buy 2 new quads

New to the forum, and looking for some realistic help, not salesmen info. I want to get 2 quads, one for me and one for the wife. Doesnt have to be the same machine's I have never really been around 4 wheelers but something I want to do. So I have very little experience with them. I will be mostly trail riding with the occasional mud riding. My pockets are not that deep so I cant spend 15k on them I really havent even priced them but hopefully not spend more than 8k for both. Any and all help is appreciated

Old 07-19-2007 | 11:39 PM
Trailblazer

This is a common problem to first timers (Like me),

What to get, What make a how big and from who...

Start with deciding what type of riding you are going to do, add to it your location, your own physical attributes (size & weight) and then how much money you have available - don't forget to consider how you are going to transport these machines and your personal equipment (helmets etc).

OK; Trails and some mudding - Utility style,

Size - ?? a 250 size machine will move a 200 lb person down the trail at about 30 mph nicely (no jumping and no racing) - comfort will be limited, consider 350-450 size. The 110 lb wife may enjoy the 250.

Make - who is in your neighbourhood to service them? A dealer can make or break any brand.

Transportation; do you own a truck?, trailer? Car capable of towing a trailer with TWO ATVs? Do you own two cars and two trailers? (lots to think about)

Money it the final factor - don't go cheap with a fixer upper, it will always cost more. Either buy new or used from a reliable party.

Sorry, no answers here - just more questions to think about.

Good Luck!

Old 07-20-2007 | 07:07 AM
|
Weekend Warrior

Well both my wife and I are big people, so at least a 350 size machine