Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Snow Plowing

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2014, 03:15 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Snow Plowing

Hello,
Newbie here and ATV's.
After some health problems my doctor (and wife) says no more
snow shoveling and no more wrestling with a snow blower.So, I am looking at ATVs for snow plowing.
Do I need power steering?
I think it has to be 4x4 with locking differential.
Not too small and not too big. Will a 500 work.
And what brand is the best?
Any other ideas?
Thanks, Kliph

Old 03-10-2014, 03:36 PM
Range Rover

Power steering is not necessary but you do have to over inflate your front tires a bit though. The difference between 5 and 8psi is really pretty impressive.

Locking diff is also not necessary but sure would be nice if you need to get out of those tough spots. If you stay on top of it though, 3/4wd and low gear will get the job done.

500 will definitely work but even 300-400cc machines can get the job done depending on how much snow you get and how big your driveway is. You will lose traction way before you will need more power.

You'll get responses all over the board about which brand is best. Do your research, take them out for a test drive and go with what feels most comfortable to you.

Lastly, I hate to break it to you but plowing with a quad is still pretty labor intensive. It's a back saver for sure but you're still out in the elements and you still have to wrestle with the machine and of course there is always the risk of damage to your machine and yourself. I like your spirit though. Good luck.

Old 03-10-2014, 04:14 PM
Super Moderator
Well, golly JimBob!
Received 54 Likes on 54 Posts