Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Looking to buy a quad, no idea where to begin

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2014, 03:57 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking to buy a quad, no idea where to begin

Hey everyone, I'm looking to buy a quad, but unfortunately, I have no idea where to begin.

I like in the Okanagan (an area in British Columbia) which is where I'll be riding. Terrain will very from paved roads, rocky gravel roads, bumpy dirt roads, dirt+rocky roads and hopefully paving my own trails.

I have some experience on a 125cc dirtbike which i road for a period of two months, and I use my mountain bike on the terrain I previously listed.

I'm 20 years old, and have never ridden a quad before. I want a beginner quad, but one that has enough room for growth so that once I get more used to riding a quad i won't have to buy another one. I'm pretty adept at learning new things, and I learned how to ride a dirtbike really quickly. It would be nice if it could fit 2 people, but that's not required.

So, hopefully I can get some help buying a quad! I don't want to buy a used one, I Want to buy a new one. Thank you

Old 07-18-2014, 09:01 AM
Super Moderator
Well, golly JimBob!
Received 54 Likes on 54 Posts

Try out a Honda Recon. It has a 250cc engine with a semi-automatic foot shift. Does amazingly well on all the surfaces you mentioned except for deep mud or deep snow. I've been over 300 lbs. for too long and have ridden a Recon any number of times. Pretty bulletproof. You can usually find a good one, used, in the US for around $1000. Not sure what kid of deals you could find up your way. Good starter quad. The Recon I mentioned was ridden by dozens of people and was the first ride experience for at least a dozen or so.

Old 07-18-2014, 10:38 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
Knows Old ATV Questions!
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts