CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Nothing but questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2004, 11:42 PM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nothing but questions

??? I'm realizing the effect of lightening the rotating weight on a DS. Here are some questions I'd like to know the anwers to and can't get the answer through searching.
What do douglas rims weigh, if I went from a front .190 to a .160 whats the weight diff. How about rear .160 to .125?
I've read that the rear sprocket carrier for 2003 aluminum can replace earlier steel units. Has anyone succesfully tried this? Sandman?
How much weight does MRhp take off the hubs when he has them turned down. They are cast units, has anyone reported any failures after having them lightened?
Has anyone gone to a lighter chain and noticed any difference? non o-ring or TI
Where could I find Titanium bolts for the hubs and sprockets without paying government prices?
Has anyone slapped a TI axle on a stock bike and what acceleration difference did it make?
Here's one for DSSleuth, your bike really pulls hard one the top end, do you run the stock carb?
I'm ready to buy A-arms, I read that the new alum ones weighed 1 pound? that can't be right. I'm looking at the Ebay ASRs but I read they were pretty heavy. If I went with the aluminum uppers I could still use the ball joints for longer life. Would the new arms correct the caster probs on my 2000 bike. Are there better A-arms out there? TBRs? are they worth the extra cost?
Finally, has anyone gone to the 720 overbore and just run the stock cam and head? How does it do? Majorecho you ran an overbore, did you go big valves?
Thanks in advance for any replies.

Old 02-20-2004, 11:53 PM
Pro Rider

the axle for me was worth the money, stock one was not strong enought! I did notice a very little differance in (accelleration?)faster.