CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

DS warranty vs first service

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2004, 08:46 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DS warranty vs first service

Hi i I picked up my new DS a week or so ago Today i got a letter from Bombardier saying they had recieved my warranty registration And mentioning the first service that should be carried out after the ten hour run in. I have the parts to do it my self and im a qualified heavy deisel industrial mechanic.

But i got the impression that if i dont go to a bomb dealer bang goes my warranty, I wouldnt mind paying for my first service

but the dealer i bought my bike from is 4.5 hours away and my local bomb dealer well lets just say i would rather eat broken glass than let him touch my bike.

So can they void my warranty if i do the work.[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-confused.gif[/img]

Old 04-05-2004, 09:48 PM
Trailblazer

I save all receipts for Oil changes, greeses, Parts etc to prove I was Properly Maintaining my equipment.

Old 04-06-2004, 03:43 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

I don't think it will void your warranty. I did my 10 hour service on my 2003 Baja, though never needed any warranty work on that machine. I also did do some work on my 2001 DS before and after having it in the shop for warranty work and they didn't give me any problem. If anyone will give you problems, it will be the dealer, not Bombardier. The only thing I'd hold off on doing under warranty period is exhaust / engine power mods. If there is something they'll get upset about that would be it. (Though Alba sells new ATVs with exhaust already installed....)

Old 04-06-2004, 04:12 AM
Pro Rider

They cannot leagaly force you to have the shop perform the 10 hour service to keep your warranty unless they provide the service for free.

Old 04-06-2004, 04:16 AM
Pro Rider