CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

QUESTION FOR THE DRAG RACERS

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2005, 05:08 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default QUESTION FOR THE DRAG RACERS

well i caught the drag bug. it was about three months ago. anyway, i am a rookie at this game so i was wondering. DOES ANYONE POWERSHIFT? what i mean is shift without the clutch. i am still learning how to luanch consistently and what not but i always use my clutch each time i shift. should i or should i not. also if not,how hard is it on the transmission? any drag tips would be helpful.i lost to a stock predator two weeks ago and my bike has mods? wtf?????? i think its user error[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-wink.gif[/img]

Old 04-13-2005, 05:15 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

I dont shift without using my clutch thats for sure...! First thing you need to do is figure out how serious your planning on getting with this dragracing that your talking about. You can be mild or wild. If I had to do it again...I would probably cut my stock swingarm by 2" and run a willie bar...launching hard is a very important factor even with a stock bike or mild modified bike. You will find that set-up is very crucial! Rotating mass is also very crucial!

Old 04-13-2005, 05:56 PM
Trailblazer

Im also interested, im not looking into gettin serious, just messing around with friends. One of my friends has a stock DVX400 that beats me almost everytime in a field. Then on the road i beat him by about 2 lenghts. All i have is a ported intake and hmf. But i keep thinking surely i should be able to beat him on grass. I have some fairly new Razr's on the rear but it still seams to spin through every gear.

Old 04-13-2005, 06:06 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

Yeah, you should be burning that stock DVX no matter what.

Old 04-13-2005, 07:45 PM
Pro Rider