CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

2003 DS Problems... First Trip Out = Failure

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2006, 09:58 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 DS Problems... First Trip Out = Failure

Hey everyone. I am very new to the DS seen, and bought a 2003 Baja as a reliable bike to have around. It has been apart once to have the trans/engine rebuilt, has a Yoshi pipe, and K&N filter. WHen I bought it, it had the filter clamped on the carb, and the airbox was taped shut. It was also pretty loud. I put the filter back in the box with an outerwear, and bought the yosh quiet core for the muffler. I also took the choke out and oiled the shaft, as it was stuck in when I bought it. When I got it in St. Louis, I ripped it up the street and back through all of the gears, with no problems. It took a while to warm up, but ran great.

Here is the problem. I took it to Silver Lake, and let it warm up for a while, and took off. I didn't even get out of the entry road, and it was backfiring and missing at half throttle. Then it stalled. I made sure the gas was on, took off the cap to ensure it was full, hit the starter, and it fired back up. Ran good for about 100 yards, and the same backfiring, missing, then stalling. It proceeded to repeat this every 4-5 minutes or so, until I made it back to the trailer.

Later in the day, my brother rode it, and it would go longer periods of time, but would still do the same thing periodically. Another time, the temp light came on before it shut down. It never seemed hot to me.

I didn't mess with the jetting, could this be the problem? What should I be jetted at approximately? I live in Detroit. I just took the carb off to dismantle it and have a look at it. I will have it apart tomorrow. Sorry for the long post, just wanted to make sure I said everything.

Anyone else have this problem? Thoughts? Any help is appreciated.

Old 06-03-2006, 10:16 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
GOT BOOST!

A wild guess on my part.